top of page
  • Spotify
  • Twitter
  • Twitter
  • Spotify
  • alitelfer14

Brendan Macken - Interview

Updated: Nov 26, 2021

Former Leinster, Wasps and London Irish player Brendan Macken recently announced his retirement from professional rugby. He speaks to Alastair Telfer on his rugby journey as he embarks on a career in the finance sector.


AT: Take me back to your Blackrock days. How important was the school in your rugby development? And can you share some memories?


BM: My school days were great! I think when you go to a big rugby school like Blackrock and see different people who come out and end up professionals, you want to be the guy who does that. Luckily, we had great guys and great coaches. My team was really successful as some went on to play professional rugby and represent Ireland. Guys who would have played professionally were myself, Andrew Conway, David Heffernan, Dennis Buckly and Dylan Fawsitt who is out in America. There were also a good few who didn’t pursue professional rugby but definitely could have.


AT: Did you play with a lot of these players at U20 level?

BM: It was great as you tended to do the whole journey together. Andrew Conway and I went through the Academy with Jordi Murphy just behind us. We all went out and played in Argentina for our first U20 World Cup which was a lot of fun. We ended up spending the four weeks out there. The next summer we were in Italy, but unfortunately had a difficult pool with England and South Africa in it. Players on both of those sides went on to be professionals as well and were capped. It just shows how important the pathway is for when you end up pro.


AT: You made your home debut for Leinster against Glasgow in 09/10 season. How did that feel?

BM: It was incredibly special! Making your debut for your home club who you stood watching from the stands since you were five or six was an extremely proud moment for me and my family. And to do it away from home against Glasgow was great. I remember it like it was yesterday, in the old Glasgow Stadium in Firhill. I was on the bench knowing I had the chance of getting capped for Leinster and then I can’t actually remember the game itself. The messages and stuff afterwards were really nice. Then as you get a taste for it you just want more and you want to play the following week. The appetite for it really increases.


AT: What was it like being in a winning culture at Leinster?

BM: Winning is definitely a habit, and at that time we were incredibly lucky to have all these superstars playing for Ireland at the top of their game. You’d be there at a match, 60 minutes in and things weren’t going your way. You might even be getting beaten, but you always knew we were going to win. I think everyone was enjoying their rugby and was on the same page. It was great to learn and experience alongside the likes of Gordon Darcy and Brian O’Driscoll and Johnny Sexton.


AT: Was it a hard decision to leave your home province?

BM: It was and it wasn’t really. Half of me kind of wanted to go, and the other half of me wanted to stay. I probably had to go as I was quite an immature guy in my early twenties like we all are. But I think it was important for me to go and grow as a person and as an individual – thankfully I was able to do that. A club like Wasps are English giants with an incredible history so to go play for them was pretty enjoyable.


AT: What was playing in the Premiership like compared to the Pro14?

BM: Yea it is a completely different league to the Pro14 – way more attritional. The atmospheres are incredible. The best way to describe it is when you played a Pro14 game and a European game…the step up was massive. Whereas in the Premiership every week felt like a European game. Most weeks they feel like they are the same intensity. There is no easy game.


AT: Getting London Irish back up to the Premiership must have been a proud moment?

BM: Yea it was nice to string a fair few games together which I haven’t been able to do…down to injuries previously. It was kind of more relief, with the club getting back to where they want to be. So it was nice to be involved in that, and was a pity to be injured so early on in that next season.


AT: Talk to be about the psychological impact of injuries in rugby?

BM: I think people just look at professional sport and think it is really glamourous. But to walk in these shoes over the last 10-11 years, the truth is somewhat different. Obviously, it is great and there are so many good things about it, but there are also difficult things and things you can’t control, and injuries are one of them. For me, it was like I always picked up injuries at important times. Thankfully I had great people around me for which I am so grateful for. I have always tried to use my injuries as a reset to try and come back in really good shape, fighting for a position.


AT: What advice would you give to an aspiring professional?

BM: Control everything that you can, but do not try and control if you get picked…unfortunately no one can control that. Don’t stress over things that are irrelevant and try not to get hung up on if someone else has done something in your position. Compare yourself to yourself only and control the controllables. But also enjoy it, as it is an incredible privilege!


Quick Fire Finish

AT: Best food to eat after a game?

BM: Lasagne in Zebre


AT: Funniest teammate?

BM: Joe Simpson


AT: Best player you’ve ever played against?

BM: Charles Piutau


AT: Best player you’ve ever played with?

BM: Charles Piutau


AT: Favourite rugby memory?

BM: My first try for Leinster against the Dragons


Check out the interview in the https://nugenerationrugby.com/ app!

22 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page